Customer Reviews

From Google

Ben Fetzer and the team did an excellent job cleaning up our basement from mold damage. They did everything they said they would and more. Yes, I would hire them again.Mike MalotteJuly 4, 2020
Excellent Company! Completely professional and efficient. Ben and Ben and the rest of the crew did an awesome job getting the mold cleaned out of our basement and rebuilding the stairs. Very nice guys that know what they are doing! I highly recommend Fresh Start!!! We are very please with our fresh clean basement!!kittyeyes13October 27, 2016
We recently used the services of FreshStart Restoration and have nothing but the highest accolades to report. Ben and his team were very professional, kept us informed of the status throughout the mold remediation process, and answered all the questions we had. We highly recommend them and plan to use their services again for another project!michael beardDecember 16, 2019
Nancy SweeneyMarch 7, 2018
Fresh Start came to my home today to remove mold which had formed in front of my dishwasher and in front of and under my sink. They Professional reviewed all areas under my cabinets and flooring laminate where mold could have spread them removed it fast, efficiently, while protecting the air quality in the house. They scheduled my work within a week of confirmed written estimate the entire process was less than two weeks. They arrived on time and completed work in less than 6 hours. There written estimate was exactly what they charged. Thank you to the Fresh Start team. They were courteous polite and professional while at my home. Gary Suse Lee’s Summit Missouri.Gary SuseSeptember 28, 2020
We were very pleased with Fresh Start's removal of the mold in our basement. They take their time to do a clean, professional job, and they even left the air scrubbers and a dehumidifier for an extra 2 days because of the heavy rains we received right after their work. They went the extra mile to help us prevent future problems until we could get the foundation fixed. The final price was exactly what the estimate said, and they showed up on-time and checked in via email and text to make sure we were comfortable during the process. Thank you for an excellent job!Abigail JohnsonAugust 26, 2016
Ben completed a thourough inspection. He listened to my concerns and let me know what what suggestions he had. He was flexible and professional. I would highly recommend Ben and FreshStart!Heidi BondOctober 26, 2018
Great customer service, very responsive, highest level of knowledge, experience and care, and well staffed and equipped to get the job thoroughly done as quickly as possible.Stuart KahnJune 6, 2018
Ben and his crew did a very thorough job removing mold from our basement. Kept everything clean and price was much better than a prominent competitor. Would definitely recommend and hire again.Dave NewmanAugust 23, 2019
Naresh PuppalaDecember 17, 2018
Ben Fetzer, owner of Fresh Start Restoration, is exceptional in his professionalism, communication skills and work ethic. He was on the job with his crew everyday, They were very respectful of our home, leaving things tidy each day. Ben went over and beyond making sure all aspects of our job were handled properly. He is just a wonderful person who I would recommend everytime.Jill TurnerJanuary 21, 2019
I am very impressed. He arrived promptly and was very professional and personable. He evaluated the area of mold in question and gave his recommendations. He gave me the option of having him do the work and how much it would cost or, since in my case the mild damage was fairly light, gave me the option of doing the work myself and gave recommendations how to do that. I chose to do it myself. I never at any time felt pressured to use his services and he was more than helpful in recommendations. I have had many people out to work on my house and it is very difficult to find trustworthy companies who actually do good work and stick with what they say. Having said that I highly recommend this company.Mariah JenkinsJuly 27, 2016
Fresh Start Restoration not only met my expectations for mold removal, they exceeded them by ensuring the air quality of my newly purchased house (20 years old) was free from contaminants. Before hiring Ben and his company, I had multiple quotes. It’s not easy to find a company to drive over an hour (one way) to do work in a rural community and none of the other companies came close to including the guarantee and work that Fresh Start Restoration did. Fresh Start Restoration came in reasonably low and was willing to work with me and answer any questions I had. When I asked to have the air ducts cleaned, Ben reached out to another company that COMPLETELY sanitized my duct work. They even took pictures of the before and after for validation of work completed! The mold mitigation in my basement and overall sanitization is amazing. I’d like to note that I recently had a mold test conducted and the levels were extremely low (post remediation). The post remediation test validated the quality of work that Ben and his team had done and is compared to the highly toxic levels of mold prior to my purchasing the house. I can’t say enough about Ben, his team and this company!!! Consummate professionals through and through! A few testimonials concerning the job: My father has COPD and I needed to have the mold removed before he could visit. Additionally, my mother and I have severe allergies to mold. When they all came to visit, it was the first time that my mother didn’t have an allergy attack and my father’s COPD didn’t flare up. Ben and his team went above and beyond to ensure our safety and health. Additionally, when I showed Ben some construction work that needed to be done, he took the time to build a shelter around my dining room so the dry wall dust wouldn’t contaminate the clean air/sanitized house. I’ve never been so pleased with any other company or work before like I am with Fresh Start Restoration! I’d recommend Ben and Fresh Start Restoration to anyone or, any business. Thank you Fresh Start Restoration for making our newly purchased house habitable and for all you did for my family!Jeremy MarksmeierAugust 21, 2020
Ben and his crew did a great job of communicating any additional issues or concerns for our project. His costs were very reasonable, as well. If the occasion arises again for these type of services, I would definitely call on him.Craig ElwellNovember 13, 2017
My nightmare started with a 'clogged drain'! Which made a small pond in my basement. The wall housing the garbage disposal needed to be removed & then the mold was found. My son is bedridden from a motorcycle accident & not in great health, so I was very concerned! I actually got 2 quotes & the other co. was cheaper, but I felt like Ben at Freshstart would do the best job. Before he had the ok to start, Ben redirected airflow so it wouldn't come upstairs to where my son is! They came in & worked long hour days. I don't think Idve gotten a better job from anyone else. This company cares for the people they're working for! They're great!!!Deborah RussellDecember 17, 2019
Mark SeferovichJune 28, 2018
Fantastic service. Addressed our individual situation and budget so professionally - really made us feel relieved. Very attentive, quick results, at a great price. Would/will definitely recommend and use again. Worked with Ben and he was great. Good communication and turn around. He answered all of our questions open and honestly... didn't feel at all like he pushed or hid anything! Thanks FreshStart!Shelby WellsSeptember 8, 2017
Prompt, professional service. Excellent bid presentation. High attention to detail in performing the work-really went over and above. Explained everything they were doing and why. Very good, caring owner and staff. Highly recommend Fresh Start Restoration if ever you find yourself in need of mold remediation.Linda RoserSeptember 5, 2016
Wow, these guys went above and beyond. You want them in your home! They're professional, clean and meticulous. They do great work and make it easy on you. I was dreading the process, but these guys made mold removal a great experience. 🙂Julie LivelyMarch 25, 2020
Highly recommend! Best price around. Ben and his team did a fantastic job. Very quick, clean, and efficient.Kymberly EbrightOctober 12, 2017
Ben was great. He not only completed the job on time, but left things clean and tidy. I wouldn't hesitate to use again if needed.Daine MeinenAugust 17, 2020
Ben was very helpful in our time of stress. He and his crew were quick, through, and very clean. Ben stayed late to help me move a window AC unit which was causing moisture in the wall and lead to black mold. Truely went the extra mile to help.Dail HobbsAugust 5, 2018
Ben was awesome. He called me immediately when I placed a web-based request. I contacted him on a Saturday afternoon and he was at my house on Monday at 8 am. He was very professional, kind, and courteous. He charged me exactly what he quoted me for a few mold spots in the attic. He was very reasonable and charged me far less than what I expected to pay. He is top notch and I highly recommend him.russpryorJuly 3, 2017
Ben was professional and a great communicator. He handled our project promptly and explained his work in layman's terms. We received several bids for our project, and his quote was reasonable. Ben seemed considerably more experienced than others we had bid on the project and he did the work himself. We are glad we used Fresh Start and would recommend him to others.Kathy LindseyJuly 13, 2016
Ben and his crew arrived on time, worked in a timely manner. They completed the job on time, cleaned up and left the area cleaner than when they arrived. I would hire Ben for any future jobs we might have.Jeanne GallowayMay 6, 2019
Ben did a very thorough check of my house, which was showing signs of mold in the bathroom. The news was better than I had hoped, and he gave me specific, clear ideas for what I could do to improve the situation. I would recommend FreshStart to anyone. I felt the company had my best interests at heart, and I would trust them to give me a straight answer.Jen WildingJune 28, 2018
They did a fantastic job of removing old insulation and installing new paper backed insulation in our walkout basement. They were professional and very polite. I would highly recommend them to anyone who has moldy insulation that needs to be removed and replaced. They were very competitive on their pricing. I would say that I got more than my moneys worth from this great company. 5 STARSMikeApril 26, 2017
Very professional. Ben and Fresh Start deliver. Absolutely would hire again!Randall OestreicherOctober 8, 2018
We are pleased with the FreshStart team! Each step was explained in detail. They arrived as scheduled each day. They cleaned up, and made sure nothing was left behind. The team was very courteous. It is important to us to trust the company doing work. We recommend FreshStart and would definitely call them again.Rose WilliamsOctober 8, 2018
Experiencing mold is not a pleasant situation, it's stressful to deal with and costly to remediate. I am a landlord who recently had the misfortune of this ordeal. The lower level of a duplex had a light coating of mold on the woodwork due to poor circulation of air. It seems the return vents were covered up by large furniture items and the toilet had (unbanned to me) recently leaked enough to soak a good portion of the carpeting. After having the carpet removed, I never experienced this type of mold situation before, so I went looking for help. I had read through many websites and settled on calling FreshStart. The site was informative and the company seemed honest. I met up with Ben from FreshStart. My first impression was "young but knowledgeable" . Ben showed us ways we could accomplish some of the remediation ourselves, but after some investigation, we determined the job was too big for us to accomplish without professional help. Ben and his team did a great job taking care of our problems. He helped us deal with our tenants who were not pleasant to deal with. I think he went above and beyond in helping us out. I would recommend Bens' services and would use FreshStart again (God forbid I ever need this type of work done again).Rick TanoAugust 5, 2014
I called to have our house checked for mold and he came prepared with his equipment and some printed information which my wife and I found very useful. He was very knowledgeable and walked the house with me and explained what we were looking at. Had small areas with mold and he was very honest and told us that we would be able to remove it ourselves. We appreciated his honesty and would definitely recommend his services to others.Antonio CApril 13, 2018
Patrick StormJanuary 8, 2019
Ben was great to work with. He was prompt and offered great solutions to my problem.MetalEdSeptember 7, 2017
Fresh Start quickly handled our mold issue. Communication was great. They were able to fit us in only days after we first contacted them. And, the process only took a few hours to complete. This team did a great job and left the place way more fresh and clean than it was previously.Jeff PoldingOctober 7, 2020
We were extremely happy with the service that Ben provided. Ben and his crew were prompt and thorough with the job that we needed them to do. They made sure they cleaned everything up before they left. Ben went above and beyond to help us with the job that we needed done. We would use FreshStart again if we ever had the need. We will definitely tell others about FreshStart. Thank you FreshStart for the wonderful experience.Jeff & Shelley MullinsNovember 26, 2018
Excellent service and outstanding results! We had a water leak and they were able to respond immediately and were able to mitigate the issue and address all concerns. If in doubt call FreshStart, Ben and his team are amazing!Spencer McKnightNovember 21, 2018
This company is very professional, efficient and thorough in its restoration work! Ben Fetzer handled our situation with a very caring attitude, diagnosing and understanding the extent of the water damage in our home. He provided step by step information as the project was completed. The clean-up was top notch and minimally disruptive under the circumstances!Ken DavisOctober 20, 2016
Ben and his crew were extremely thorough and informative. I bought a foreclosed house that had been vacant for a year. The finished basement was a soggy, moldy mess due to foundation issues. Fresh Start gutted everything and treated for mold. Ben was very helpful pointing out other things about the house that needed to be addressed with the renovation. Their work exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing mold remediation.Melissa HealerNovember 29, 2016
Many thanks to Ben Fetzer and Fresh Start Restoration, for a PERFECT customer experience. Mold is a scary situation that you don’t want to fool around with. I initially found Fresh Start on Angie’s List, then received an additional rec on them through another business resource. The process was timely and professional from the first consultation, to the immaculate condition they left our two rooms in when they finished. I am a customer service manager, so I appreciate the extra details it takes to go above and beyond. My husband and I gratefully give this company, 5 stars. We also encourage everyone who needs a mold remediation company to call and place your confidence in Fresh Start Restoration. Thanks again for everything, Ben!Lori SchuetzJuly 19, 2016
Ben and his crew are professional and courteous and did a fantastic job taking care of our problem. They really took great care to make sure everything was addressed from start to finish. I would highly recommend their services!Michael KimDecember 3, 2019
Very professional and truly caring about the health and safety or our family and our home. Removed the mold quickly and efficiently and set our minds at easeGary SmithDecember 16, 2019
Thanks to Ben and FreshStart for the excellent work and service on my moms home. Highly recommend!!ken reeceJune 27, 2017
We purchased a house needing A LOT of remediation for mold. Ben and his team were extremely thorough and gave our family peace of mind moving into a clean house. This was important to us as my son has some air-born allergies. Ben even offered to come back after we had done some addition construction to clean the ducts since they would get dusty during the process after his work. I don't think I could recommend Fresh Start more highly.Russell CappsJune 28, 2018
I am very happy with Fresh Start. This company has great prices, very nice, polite, fast, great work and cleans up very good after themselves. I would use this company again if I needed to.Laurie HehnSeptember 8, 2017
marijoy clarkSeptember 30, 2020

From Other Sites

View by Review Site: Facebook /  LinkedIn  /  Zaarly / Angie’s List / Home Advisor

Really Knowledgeable and Does Very Thorough Work
Zaarly / Mission, KS / Mold Removal
September 10, 2017
    

Ben is someone who really knows customer service, and that being responsive, helpful and very easy to work with can make a very big difference. Ben was a referral to me from Power-Dry. I had an ice maker that did some amazing water damage and molded in my kitchen. Ben was awesome to have to take care of this. He is super considerate, really knowledgeable and does very thorough work.

  • Responsive communication
  • √ Friendly customer service
  • √ Prompt timely service
  • √ Great value
  • √ Quality work

Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Zaarly

Great to Work With
Facebook / Belton, MO / Mold Removal
August 3, 2017
    

Ben was great to work with. Work completed as discussed and the results and Fresh!! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Facebook

Responsive, Knowledgeable and Great to Work With
Zaarly / Liberty, MO / Mold Removal
July 20, 2017
    

Ben was just here the end of August. We had a bit of a mold issue arise in our basement. Ben really is very responsive, knowledgeable and great to work with. He is super thorough and really went the extra mile and then some. I would most certainly use him again.

  • Responsive communication
  • √ Friendly customer service
  • √ Prompt timely service
  • √ Great value
  • √ Quality work

Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Zaarly

Beyond Expectations and Affordable
Facebook / Independence, MO / Mold Removal
June 21, 2017
    

Good people to deal with! Went beyond expectations and affordable. Hope we never have to go thru this again but if we do Freshstart will be the one we will call! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Facebook

“The were really efficient and had a good value”
Home Advisor / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal
June 8, 2017
    

The were really efficient and had a good value. They are prompt and they did what they said they were going to do with no surprises. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Home Advisor

“Honest & Detailed”
Home Advisor / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal
June 8, 2017
    

Honest and detailed. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Home Advisor

“…gave me confidence they had cleaned the area of mold”
Home Advisor Reviews / Prairie Village, KS / Mold Removal
June 8, 2017
    

I like working with owners who do the work of their business. Ben and his helper gave me confidence they had cleaned the area of mold and left everything back in place. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Home Advisor

Quality Work
Facebook / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal
June 7, 2017
    

I am so grateful for the quality work they completed in my home. They were clean and respectful and very professional throughout all the needed repairs. I highly recommend this company! (Rating 5/5)

Review Provided by Client to Facebook

Very Professional and Honest…Preferred Vendor
Facebook / Grandview, MO / Mold Removal
June 7, 2017

Ben with Fresh Start has done work on several of my properties. He and his team have been very professinal and honest and got the work done in a quality way. These guys tell you honestly what needs done and if you don’t need much they tell you that to….very refershing in this kinda of bussiness to find honest people. I highly recommend these guys with out hesitiation and have made them my prefered vendor. Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Facebook

“extremely professional, meticulous and responsive, showing up on time”
Angie’s List Review / Lenexa, KS / Mold Removal
March 4, 2017
    

Ben Fetzer and his co-worker Matt did a super job. The first step was to inspect the area and get some air samples to send to the lab. He did this on time and we got results the next day, which he emailed to us. He also provided us with a detailed and easy-to-read quote for the actual repairs, which outlined everything that needed to be done. During the actual mold removal, Ben and Matt were very thorough in isolating the affected areas from the rest of the house, with plastic sheeting covering the floor, and hanging down from the ceiling. The affected area was very high up, so they had to install scaffolding to be able to get to it safely. They tore out the damaged drywall and insulation, and cleaned the wood studs carefully. They took many good photos of the damaged drywall, showing mold and water damage, and sent them to us for insurance purposes. After the first day, we saw that the damage was more extensive than we originally thought, so we agreed that he should come out again to continue removing damaged material. Ben gave us a quote for the additional work and showed up promptly the next morning. He and Matt installed more plastic sheeting and moved the scaffolding so they could continue working. When they were finished, they cleaned up all the debris and removed the plastic sheeting, except for some that we requested that they leave, so that the repair contractor would have an easier time controlling dust when installing new drywall. Ben’s bid for the additional work was pretty much spot-on. During the entire process, Ben was extremely professional, meticulous and responsive, showing up on time and minimizing the disruption to our household. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing mold remediation

Description of Work: We had some mold and other water damage from some upper windows near the ceiling. The water had come in through a seam in some trim where the caulking had deteriorated. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

“there were no surprises on the bill once the work was complete”
Angie’s List Review / Overland Park, KS / Mold Removal
February 27, 2017
    

We could not be more pleased with the service provided. Ben was very responsive and knowledgeable. He explained in detail what needed to be done and how much it was going to cost. He was on time and there were no surprises on the bill once the work was complete. I would recommend him for any kind of mold services. He also sent a hand written thank you note thanking us for our business a few days later. I though that was a really nice touch.

Description of Work: We needed some mold removal on the corner wall of our living area. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

“very helpful pointing out other things about the house”
Angie’s List Review / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal
November 29, 2016
    

Their work exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing mold remediation.

Description of Work: Ben and his crew were extremely thorough and informative. I bought a foreclosed house that had been vacant for a year. The finished basement was a soggy, moldy mess due to foundation issues. Fresh Start gutted everything and treated for mold. Ben was very helpful pointing out other things about the house that needed to be addressed with the renovation. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

“Wonderful job! Very efficient and thorough”
Angie’s List Review / Lees Summit, MO / Mold Testing
September 9, 2016
    

Wonderful job! Very efficient and thorough. I would definitely recommend them.Tested for mold and remediate do the Rea.(Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

“team conducted themselves in a friendly and professional manor”
Angie’s List Review / Liberty, MO / Mold Removal
February 16, 2016
    

They worked very hard in cleaning all surfaces and items. After the cleaning and containerizing of our items they sprayed our basement with an antibacterial fluid and cleaned the air with two large HEPA filters. Ben and his team conducted themselves in a friendly and professional manor. They worked very hard in cleaning all surfaces and items. After the cleaning and containerizing of our items they sprayed our basement with an antibacterial fluid and cleaned the air with two large HEPA filters. Ben and his team conducted themselves in a friendly and professional manor. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

“The results were spectacular!”
Angie’s List Review / Liberty, MO / Mold Removal
September 27, 2015
    

Our appointment was set for 9AM and Ben called ahead of time to inform us he was on his way and at what time he would arrive.  He was punctual and friendly.  A detailed inspection was performed that resulted in a detailed written report including a subsequent estimate of the cost.  Ben was very patient and answered all of the questions we had.  We accepted the bid.
A date was set for the work and Ben called the morning that was scheduled to let me know he was on the way and his estimated time of arrival.  He arrived on time with another worker and they began their setup for the job.  The procedure was explained in detail again by Ben.  The mold remediation and complete sanitation of the basement was a two day process.  The results were spectacular!  My wife and I were very pleased with the results and would recommend FreshStart to anyone for the remediation of mold in their dwelling.
Preston

Mold remediation in our basement that was under the kitchen floor and complete sanitation of the whole basement. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

Most Trustworthy, Flat Remarkable Contractors
Zaarly / Shawnee, KS / Mold Removal
September 16, 2015

Ben is one of the most trustworthy, flat remarkable contractors you could hope to have for major water damage and mold remediation. We came home after an 8 day vacation to find one heck of a mess. Ben couldn’t have been more responsive, knowledgeable, helpful and awesome at solving this nightmare of a problem. He is great to work with and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him.

  • Responsive communication
  • √ Friendly customer service
  • √ Prompt timely service
  • √ Great value
  • √ Quality work

Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Zaarly

“Their price was about half”
Angie’s List Review / Lees Summit, MO / Mold Removal
August 12, 2015
    

Removed mold in a house in the basement. Removed damaged Sheetrock. Their price was about half of what other bids were. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

“Very satisfied. Reasonably priced”
Angie’s List Review / Independence, MO / Mold Inspection
May 28, 2015
    

The renter had concerns about mold. The inspector made a thorough inspection of the basement and did a surface treatment on an area of the concrete block that was discolored. Very satisfied. Reasonably priced. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie’s List

“I’m grateful that I don’t have to compete with them!”
LinkedIN / Mission, KS / Services
March 9, 2011
    

I’ve known Katie and Ben for several years…. They are two very capable individuals with high integrity. As a team their future has no limits. I’m grateful that I don’t have to compete with them!

Review submitted by Client to LinkedIn

“proved to be reputable, honest, and trustworthy”
LinkedIn / North Kansas City / Services
February 17, 2011
    

We have had multiple business dealings with Ben and Katie over the years. They have always proved to be reputable, honest, and trustworthy. They are on our list of recommended cleaning services in the Kansas City area.

Review submited to LinkedIn

“JUST the kind of people we like to work with”
LinkedIn / Belton, MO / Water Damage: Mold Prevention
February 17, 2011
    

I can’t say enough about how Ben Fetzer came to the rescue when our basement flooded. Ben’s crew effectively, quickly, and expertly pumped 2,000 or more gallons out of our basement saving my oak furniture and our other belongings. They are expert cleaners, trustworthy, and wonderful people –JUST the kind of people we like to work with. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to LinkedIn