View Reviews by Service Hired:  Mold Removal  /  Mold Testing  /  Mold Inspections  /  Attic Insulation

mold company reviews

I Got More Than My Moneys Worth!

They did a fantastic job of removing old insulation and installing new paper backed insulation in our walkout basement. They were professional and very polite. I would highly recommend them to anyone who has moldy insulation that needs to be removed and replaced. They were very competitive on their pricing. I would say that I got more than my moneys worth from this great company. 5 STARS (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Mike M. Homeowner Google / Olathe, KS / Insulation December 8, 2017

mold company reviews

I Would Definitely Call

Ben and his crew did a great job of communicating any additional issues or concerns for our project. His costs were very reasonable, as well. If the occasion arises again for these type of services, I would definitely call on him. (Rating 4/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Craig Elwell Maintenance Manager Google / Lee's Summit / Mold Removal November 17, 2017

mold company reviews

Highly Recommend!

Highly recommend! Best price around. Ben and his team did a fantastic job. Very quick, clean, and efficient. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Kimberly Ebright Homeowner Google / Grandview, MO / Mold Removal November 8, 2017

mold company reviews

I Would Use This Company Again!

I am very happy with Fresh Start. This company has great prices, very nice, polite, fast, great work and cleans up very good after themselves. I would use this company again if I needed to. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Laurie Hehn Homeowner Google / Raytown, MO / Mold Removal October 8, 2017

mold company reviews

Fantastic Service

Fantastic service. Addressed our individual situation and budget so professionally - really made us feel relieved. Very attentive, quick results, at a great price. Would/will definitely recommend and use again. Worked with Ben and he was great. Good communication and turn around. He answered all of our questions open and honestly... didn't feel at all like he pushed or hid anything! Thanks FreshStart!  (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Shelby Wells Home Owner Google / Independence, MO / Mold Testing October 8, 2017

mold company reviews

Prompt and Offered Great Solutions

Ben was great to work with. He was prompt and offered great solutions to my problem. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Edwardo Martinez Homeowner Google / Belton, MO / Mold Testing September 11, 2017

mold company reviews

Prompt and Offered Great Solutions

Ben was great to work with. He was prompt and offered great solutions to my problem. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

September 11, 2017

mold company reviews

Really Knowledgeable and Does Very Thorough Work

Ben is someone who really knows customer service, and that being responsive, helpful and very easy to work with can make a very big difference. Ben was a referral to me from Power-Dry. I had an ice maker that did some amazing water damage and molded in my kitchen. Ben was awesome to have to take care of this. He is super considerate, really knowledgeable and does very thorough work.

  • Responsive communication
  • √ Friendly customer service
  • √ Prompt timely service
  • √ Great value
  • √ Quality work

Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Zaarly

Ken D. Homeowner Zaarly / Mission, KS / Mold Removal September 10, 2017

mold company reviews

Great to Work With

Ben was great to work with. Work completed as discussed and the results and Fresh!! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Facebook

Eddie Martinez Homeowner Facebook / Belton, MO / Mold Removal August 3, 2017

mold company reviews

Responsive, Knowledgeable and Great to Work With

Ben was just here the end of August. We had a bit of a mold issue arise in our basement. Ben really is very responsive, knowledgeable and great to work with. He is super thorough and really went the extra mile and then some. I would most certainly use him again.

  • Responsive communication
  • √ Friendly customer service
  • √ Prompt timely service
  • √ Great value
  • √ Quality work

Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Zaarly

Preston V. Homeowner Zaarly / Liberty, MO / Mold Removal July 20, 2017

mold company reviews

Highly Recommend

Thanks to Ben and FreshStart for the excellent work and service on my moms home. Highly recommend!! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Ken Reece Homeowner Google / Prairie Village, KS / Mold Removal July 11, 2017

mold company reviews

Very Reasonable!

Ben was awesome. He called me immediately when I placed a web-based request. I contacted him on a Saturday afternoon and he was at my house on Monday at 8 am. He was very professional, kind, and courteous. He charged me exactly what he quoted me for a few mold spots in the attic. He was very reasonable and charged me far less than what I expected to pay. He is top notch and I highly recommend him. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

James Pryor Homeowner Google / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal July 2, 2017

mold company reviews

Beyond Expectations and Affordable

Good people to deal with! Went beyond expectations and affordable. Hope we never have to go thru this again but if we do Freshstart will be the one we will call! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Facebook

Ken Reece Homeowner Facebook / Independence, MO / Mold Removal June 21, 2017

mold company reviews

“The were really efficient and had a good value”

The were really efficient and had a good value. They are prompt and they did what they said they were going to do with no surprises. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Home Advisor

Glenn S Landlord Home Advisor / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal June 8, 2017

default image

“Honest & Detailed”

Honest and detailed. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Home Advisor

Homeowner Home Advisor / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal June 8, 2017

mold company reviews

“…gave me confidence they had cleaned the area of mold”

I like working with owners who do the work of their business. Ben and his helper gave me confidence they had cleaned the area of mold and left everything back in place. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Home Advisor

Linda G. in Home Owner Home Advisor Reviews / Prairie Village, KS / Mold Removal June 8, 2017

mold company reviews

Quality Work

I am so grateful for the quality work they completed in my home. They were clean and respectful and very professional throughout all the needed repairs. I highly recommend this company! (Rating 5/5)

Review Provided by Client to Facebook

Deborah Cossu Homeowner Facebook / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal June 7, 2017

mold company reviews

Very Professional and Honest…Preferred Vendor

Ben with Fresh Start has done work on several of my properties. He and his team have been very professinal and honest and got the work done in a quality way. These guys tell you honestly what needs done and if you don't need much they tell you that to....very refershing in this kinda of bussiness to find honest people. I highly recommend these guys with out hesitiation and have made them my prefered vendor. Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Facebook

Jennifer Smeltzer Realtor / Property Manager / Homeowner Facebook / Grandview, MO / Mold Removal June 7, 2017

mold company reviews

“They were very competitive on their pricing”

They did a fantastic job of removing old insulation and installing new paper backed insulation in our walkout basement. They were professional and very polite. I would highly recommend them to anyone who has moldy insulation that needs to be removed and replaced. They were very competitive on their pricing. I would say that I got more than my moneys worth from this great company. 5 STARS (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Mike R. Homeowner Google Reviews / Parkville, MO / Insulation April 19, 2017

mold company reviews

“extremely professional, meticulous and responsive, showing up on time”

Ben Fetzer and his co-worker Matt did a super job. The first step was to inspect the area and get some air samples to send to the lab. He did this on time and we got results the next day, which he emailed to us. He also provided us with a detailed and easy-to-read quote for the actual repairs, which outlined everything that needed to be done. During the actual mold removal, Ben and Matt were very thorough in isolating the affected areas from the rest of the house, with plastic sheeting covering the floor, and hanging down from the ceiling. The affected area was very high up, so they had to install scaffolding to be able to get to it safely. They tore out the damaged drywall and insulation, and cleaned the wood studs carefully. They took many good photos of the damaged drywall, showing mold and water damage, and sent them to us for insurance purposes. After the first day, we saw that the damage was more extensive than we originally thought, so we agreed that he should come out again to continue removing damaged material. Ben gave us a quote for the additional work and showed up promptly the next morning. He and Matt installed more plastic sheeting and moved the scaffolding so they could continue working. When they were finished, they cleaned up all the debris and removed the plastic sheeting, except for some that we requested that they leave, so that the repair contractor would have an easier time controlling dust when installing new drywall. Ben's bid for the additional work was pretty much spot-on. During the entire process, Ben was extremely professional, meticulous and responsive, showing up on time and minimizing the disruption to our household. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing mold remediation

Description of Work: We had some mold and other water damage from some upper windows near the ceiling. The water had come in through a seam in some trim where the caulking had deteriorated. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

Jim Meyer Manager / Homeowner Angie's List Review / Lenexa, KS / Mold Removal March 4, 2017

mold company reviews

“there were no surprises on the bill once the work was complete”

We could not be more pleased with the service provided. Ben was very responsive and knowledgeable. He explained in detail what needed to be done and how much it was going to cost. He was on time and there were no surprises on the bill once the work was complete. I would recommend him for any kind of mold services. He also sent a hand written thank you note thanking us for our business a few days later. I though that was a really nice touch.

Description of Work: We needed some mold removal on the corner wall of our living area. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

A. Witcher Homeowner Angie's List Review / Overland Park, KS / Mold Removal February 27, 2017

mold company reviews

“Excellent Company! Completely professional and efficient”

Excellent Company! Completely professional and efficient. Ben and Ben and the rest of the crew did an awesome job getting the mold cleaned out of our basement and rebuilding the stairs. Very nice guys that know what they are doing! I highly recommend Fresh Start!!! We are very please with our fresh clean basement!! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Dayna Newberry Tenant Google Reviews / Overland Park, KS / Mold Removal December 5, 2016

mold company reviews

“very helpful pointing out other things about the house”

Their work exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing mold remediation.

Description of Work: Ben and his crew were extremely thorough and informative. I bought a foreclosed house that had been vacant for a year. The finished basement was a soggy, moldy mess due to foundation issues. Fresh Start gutted everything and treated for mold. Ben was very helpful pointing out other things about the house that needed to be addressed with the renovation. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

Melissa H. Homeowner Angie's List Review / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal November 29, 2016

mold company reviews

“Their work exceeded my expectations”

Ben and his crew were extremely thorough and informative. I bought a foreclosed house that had been vacant for a year. The finished basement was a soggy, moldy mess due to foundation issues. Fresh Start gutted everything and treated for mold. Ben was very helpful pointing out other things about the house that needed to be addressed with the renovation. Their work exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing mold remediation. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Melissa Healer Graphic Designer / Homeowner Google Review / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal November 15, 2016

mold company reviews

“Clean-up was top notch and minimally disruptive”

This company is very professional, efficient and thorough in its restoration work! Ben Fetzer handled our situation with a very caring attitude, diagnosing and understanding the extent of the water damage in our home. He provided step by step information as the project was completed. The clean-up was top notch and minimally disruptive under the circumstances! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Ken Davis Author / Homeowner Google Review / Mission, KS / Mold Removal November 5, 2016

mold company reviews

“They went the extra mile to help us prevent future problems”

We were very pleased with Fresh Start's removal of the mold in our basement. They take their time to do a clean, professional job, and they even left the air scrubbers and a dehumidifier for an extra 2 days because of the heavy rains we received right after their work. They went the extra mile to help us prevent future problems until we could get the foundation fixed. The final price was exactly what the estimate said, and they showed up on-time and checked in via email and text to make sure we were comfortable during the process. Thank you for an excellent job! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Abigail Johnson Teacher / Homeowner Google Review / Grandview, MO / Mold Removal October 26, 2016

mold company reviews

“Very friendly, professional, courteous, and willing to answer all questions I had”

Ben came to investigate a potential mold problem we were having due to a leaking air conditioner in the unfinished area of our basement. He was very friendly, professional, courteous, and willing to answer all questions I had. He very thoroughly inspected the area, even going into the most unpleasant areas of our basement. He told me what probably was and was not mold, as well as how to go about cleaning the areas myself that were not a huge concern. It turned out the water damage had caused some mold to grow in the insulation and dry wall of the finished part of our basement behind the baseboards, which needs to be fixed but is relatively minor. He went into great detail about how he would go about the mold remediation process. He further investigated some other concerning areas in the basement and was very knowledgeable and willing to share as much information as possible about the situation. We are waiting on an estimate for the work to be done (he just did the inspection today) but so far I am very pleased and has put my mind at ease about the extent of the damage. I will update once any work has been done. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Kelsey Black Homeowner Google Review / Lees Summit, MO / Mold Inspection October 24, 2016

mold company reviews

“Explained everything they were doing and why”

Prompt, professional service. Excellent bid presentation. High attention to detail in performing the work-really went over and above. Explained everything they were doing and why. Very good, caring owner and staff. Highly recommend Fresh Start Restoration if ever you find yourself in need of mold remediation. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Linda Roser Homeowner Google Reviews / Prairie Village, KS / Mold Removal October 5, 2016

mold company reviews

“Wonderful job! Very efficient and thorough”

Wonderful job! Very efficient and thorough. I would definitely recommend them.Tested for mold and remediate do the Rea.(Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

Ann R. Homeowner Angie's List Review / Lees Summit, MO / Mold Testing September 9, 2016

mold company reviews

“I never at any time felt pressured to use his services and he was more than helpful in recommendations”

I am very impressed. He arrived promptly and was very professional and personable. He evaluated the area of mold in question and gave his recommendations. He gave me the option of having him do the work and how much it would cost or, since in my case the mild damage was fairly light, gave me the option of doing the work myself and gave recommendations how to do that. I chose to do it myself. I never at any time felt pressured to use his services and he was more than helpful in recommendations. I have had many people out to work on my house and it is very difficult to find trustworthy companies who actually do good work and stick with what they say. Having said that I highly recommend this company. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Mariah Jenkins Manager / Homeowner Google Review / Kansas City, MO / Mold Inspection September 5, 2016

mold company reviews

“a PERFECT customer experience”

Many thanks to Ben Fetzer and Fresh Start Restoration, for a PERFECT customer experience. Mold is a scary situation that you don’t want to fool around with. I initially found Fresh Start on Angie’s List, then received an additional rec on them through another business resource. The process was timely and professional from the first consultation, to the immaculate condition they left our two rooms in when they finished. I am a customer service manager, so I appreciate the extra details it takes to go above and beyond. My husband and I gratefully give this company, 5 stars. We also encourage everyone who needs a mold remediation company to call and place your confidence in Fresh Start Restoration. Thanks again for everything, Ben! (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Lori Schuetz Business Manager / Homeowner Google Review / Kansas City, MO / Mold Removal July 11, 2016

default image

“Considerably more experienced than others”

Ben was professional and a great communicator. He handled our project promptly and explained his work in layman's terms. We received several bids for our project, and his quote was reasonable. Ben seemed considerably more experienced than others we had bid on the project and he did the work himself. We are glad we used Fresh Start and would recommend him to others. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Kathy Lindsey Homeowner Google Review / Overland Park, KS / Mold Removal June 21, 2016

mold company reviews

“team conducted themselves in a friendly and professional manor”

They worked very hard in cleaning all surfaces and items. After the cleaning and containerizing of our items they sprayed our basement with an antibacterial fluid and cleaned the air with two large HEPA filters. Ben and his team conducted themselves in a friendly and professional manor. They worked very hard in cleaning all surfaces and items. After the cleaning and containerizing of our items they sprayed our basement with an antibacterial fluid and cleaned the air with two large HEPA filters. Ben and his team conducted themselves in a friendly and professional manor. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

Jerry L. Homeowner Angie's List Review / Liberty, MO / Mold Removal February 16, 2016

mold company reviews

“The results were spectacular!”

Our appointment was set for 9AM and Ben called ahead of time to inform us he was on his way and at what time he would arrive.  He was punctual and friendly.  A detailed inspection was performed that resulted in a detailed written report including a subsequent estimate of the cost.  Ben was very patient and answered all of the questions we had.  We accepted the bid.
A date was set for the work and Ben called the morning that was scheduled to let me know he was on the way and his estimated time of arrival.  He arrived on time with another worker and they began their setup for the job.  The procedure was explained in detail again by Ben.  The mold remediation and complete sanitation of the basement was a two day process.  The results were spectacular!  My wife and I were very pleased with the results and would recommend FreshStart to anyone for the remediation of mold in their dwelling.
Preston

Mold remediation in our basement that was under the kitchen floor and complete sanitation of the whole basement. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

Preston V. Business Owner / Homeowner Angie's List Review / Liberty, MO / Mold Removal September 27, 2015

mold company reviews

Most Trustworthy, Flat Remarkable Contractors

Ben is one of the most trustworthy, flat remarkable contractors you could hope to have for major water damage and mold remediation. We came home after an 8 day vacation to find one heck of a mess. Ben couldn't have been more responsive, knowledgeable, helpful and awesome at solving this nightmare of a problem. He is great to work with and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.

  • Responsive communication
  • √ Friendly customer service
  • √ Prompt timely service
  • √ Great value
  • √ Quality work

Rating (5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Zaarly

Jared B. Homeowner Zaarly / Shawnee, KS / Mold Removal September 16, 2015

mold company reviews

“Their price was about half”

Removed mold in a house in the basement. Removed damaged Sheetrock. Their price was about half of what other bids were. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

Michael P. Homeowner Angie's List Review / Lees Summit, MO / Mold Removal August 12, 2015

mold company reviews

“Very satisfied. Reasonably priced”

The renter had concerns about mold. The inspector made a thorough inspection of the basement and did a surface treatment on an area of the concrete block that was discolored. Very satisfied. Reasonably priced. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Angie's List

Angie's List Member Landlord Angie's List Review / Independence, MO / Mold Inspection May 28, 2015

mold company reviews

“Helped us deal with our tenants who were not pleasant to deal with”

Experiencing mold is not a pleasant situation, it's stressful to deal with and costly to remediate. I am a landlord who recently had the misfortune of this ordeal. The lower level of a duplex had a light coating of mold on the woodwork due to poor circulation of air. It seems the return vents were covered up by large furniture items and the toilet had (unbanned to me) recently leaked enough to soak a good portion of the carpeting. After having the carpet removed, I never experienced this type of mold situation before, so I went looking for help. I had read through many websites and settled on calling FreshStart. The site was informative and the company seemed honest. I met up with Ben from FreshStart. My first impression was young but knowledgeable. Ben showed us ways we could accomplish some of the remediation ourselves, but after some investigation, we determined the job was too big for us to accomplish without professional help. Ben and his team did a great job taking care of our problems. He helped us deal with our tenants who were not pleasant to deal with. I think he went above and beyond in helping us out. I would recommend Bens' services and would use FreshStart again (God forbid I ever need this type of work done again). (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to Google

Rick Tano Landlord Google Review / Kansas City / Mold Removal May 5, 2015

mold company reviews

“I’m grateful that I don’t have to compete with them!”

I've known Katie and Ben for several years.... They are two very capable individuals with high integrity. As a team their future has no limits. I'm grateful that I don't have to compete with them!

Review submitted by Client to LinkedIn

Marty Hugo Commercial Real Estate Leasing Agent LinkedIN / Mission, KS / Services March 9, 2011

mold company reviews

“proved to be reputable, honest, and trustworthy”

We have had multiple business dealings with Ben and Katie over the years. They have always proved to be reputable, honest, and trustworthy. They are on our list of recommended cleaning services in the Kansas City area.

Review submited to LinkedIn

Kevin Musser Business Owner LinkedIn / North Kansas City / Services February 17, 2011

default image

“JUST the kind of people we like to work with”

I can't say enough about how Ben Fetzer came to the rescue when our basement flooded. Ben's crew effectively, quickly, and expertly pumped 2,000 or more gallons out of our basement saving my oak furniture and our other belongings. They are expert cleaners, trustworthy, and wonderful people --JUST the kind of people we like to work with. (Rating 5/5)

Review Submitted by Client to LinkedIn

Linda Fields President / Home Owner LinkedIn / Belton, MO / Water Damage: Mold Prevention February 17, 2011